Green County at a Glance

Green County, created in 1836 as a territorial county, is named after Nathanael Greene, quartermaster general and commander of the southern campaign during the Revolutionary War. Today, Green County is known for its green rolling hills, highly productive farmland, and the small town flavor of its communities.

Located in south-central Wisconsin, Green County has 16 towns, 6 villages and 2 cities and the county seat is Monroe. The land area is 585 square miles and the population as of the 2010 census, is 36,842. Green County is divided into 31 supervisory districts and each district has a representative on the Board of Supervisors.

Historic Courthouse

One of the most recognizable sites in Green County is the historic courthouse located in the center of the Monroe square. Completed in 1891, the majestic Green County Courthouse is distinguished by arched porticos with polished marble pillars, windows with granite block accents and a bell in the soaring 120-foot clock tower.

Although court-related services were relocated to the Justice Center in September, 2009, the courthouse is still home to the general government offices and visitors are always welcome.

Thank You for Visiting!

Learn more about what Green County government has to offer as you explore our website and check out our various links. We hope you find our site very useful and easy to navigate.